The Seven Heavens

The number seven is a significant number in religion and spirituality. It is often referred to as the number of completion, and the Bible claims that God created the world in seven days. In the ancient world, dating back to Mesopotamia, many people believed that the planets in our solar system were more than just celestial bodies. They believed the planets, along with the Sun and the Moon, were realms which were each ruled over by a specific deity. In “The Man Who Broke Free,” I mentioned that the seven days of the week were named after Norse gods along with the Roman god Saturn, the Sun, and the Moon. Let’s take a closer look at these seven heavens.

The first heaven is the Moon, which is where Monday gets its name from. In my book, I wrote about how the DreamWorks logo features a boy sitting on the moon while fishing, presumably for souls. This is a symbolic representation of the role the moon plays in the human afterlife experience and the recycling of souls back down to Earth. Nannar/Sin was the Mesopotamian deity associated with the Moon, who later on became conflated with Allah in Islam.

The second heaven is Mercury. Some of the deities associated with Mercury include Nabu, Enki, Hermes, and Odin. Odin, or Woden, is where Wednesday gets its name from. Mercury was the Roman god of messages and communications. This is why when the planet Mercury goes into retrograde, you will often hear of human interactions becoming disrupted in one form or another. As above, so below, as the old Hermetic saying goes. Speaking of Hermes, it is no coincidence that he shares the same planet as Enki, both of whom are trickster gods.

The third heaven is Venus. The Norse goddess Freya is where Friday originates from. Freya is associated with the Roman goddess Venus as well as Inanna/Isis. Lucifer is also connected to Venus, however, Enki is not. In this case, Venus represents the feminine side of Lucifer, which is the aspect of Sophia that descended to the Kenoma and became the consort of Enki/Marduk (Yaldabaoth). The seven heavens encompass the Kenoma, which exists outside the Pleroma and below the 8th and 9th heavens. The firmament mentioned in the Bible is what divides the upper heavens (8th and 9th) from the lower heavens (Kenoma). God says in Genesis, “Let there be a firmament in the midst of the waters, and let it divide the waters from the waters.” In this case, God is Enki and this is why Enki is known as the god of fresh water, while Tiamat (Sophia/Achamoth) is known as the goddess of salt water.

The fourth heaven is the Sun. The etymology of Sunday comes from the Sun, which was ruled over by Utu/Shamash, the Mesopotamian god of the Sun. There are many various major Sun gods throughout ancient civilizations, some of which include Mithra in Zoroastrianism, Apollo in ancient Greece, and Amun-Ra in ancient Egypt. In the case of the ancient Egyptians, they regarded the Sun god Amun-Ra as their supreme deity. The Sun was so important to the Egyptians, that even during the reign of Akhenaten, when the controversial pharaoh put a temporary end to polytheism in the country and elevated the Aten as the one and only god, the Sun continued to be worshipped as an aspect of Ra through the Aten, the solar disc.

The fifth heaven is Mars. Mars is associated with gods of war such as Nergal, Ares, and Tyr. Tuesday derives from the Norse god Tyr. It is no coincidence that Mars begins with “Mar” just like Marduk. Although Marduk is not specifically associated with the planet, these other gods represent the aspects of him which are. One can argue that the war god epithet originated with Marduk following his victorious battle with Tiamat. This is a good segue into the ruler of the next realm.

The sixth heaven is Jupiter. Thursday comes from the Norse storm god Thor who was associated with the planet Jupiter. Enlil, Zeus, and Marduk are also storms gods who are associated with Jupiter. Jupiter is the son of Saturn, just like Yahweh is the son of El, Zeus is the son of Kronos, Marduk is the son of Enki, and Enlil/Sabaoth is the son of Yaldabaoth. This leads us into the seventh and final heaven in the Kenoma.

The seventh heaven is Saturn. Needless to say, this is the highest realm of the Kenoma which is where the saying “I’m in seventh heaven” comes from. Saturday is Saturn’s day, which is also the Sabbath day. In other words, it’s the day of worship for Saturn/Satan. Ninurta is associated with Saturn, but it’s important to remember that the original Ninurta was Enlil/Sabaoth after he disassociated himself from Yaldabaoth. However, after Sabaoth was given knowledge of the 8th heaven by Sophia, Yaldabaoth became god of the seventh heaven and took over the title of Ninurta.

Whoever said mythology was confusing?


2 thoughts on “The Seven Heavens

    1. Yes, I think it’s been done intentionally so that we would never find out the truth. Even most people who are interested in mythology do not have a full understanding of who these gods really are. I feel fortunate to have learned as much as I have at a relatively young age. Since the human lifespan is so short, it makes it that much more difficult to figure things out unless you’re really dedicated to wanting to expand your consciousness.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: